How-To: Fab Braid for Short Hair

It’s taken me a very long time to learn how to do French braids, then I cut my hair short and when gym time rolled around I needed something that could keep my hair out of my eyes and away from my face.

This particular one has gotten so many compliments and questions on how-to’s. So beauties,  I give you a braid so easy and so fast, you can afford to hit the snooze button a couple more times and slay bed head for good.

All you need for this is 2 mini elastics. My favorite is Goody® Ouchless™ Mini Elastics (under $5 at Target for 500).

5 Step Crown Braid for Short Hair:

step1

 

Step 1: Define your part and spray your hair with a texturizing spray (if dry) to make sure the braids stay in place. I’m crazy for the Rusk Texture Finishing Spray (approx. $18 on Birchbox.com) because it’s lightweight, just sticky enough and smells great all day.

step2

Step 2: Starting on the heavier half of your part, start with three pieces like you would any braid. The top piece should be the largest with the other two pieces at the top and bottom of the section. Go through one round of a normal braid.

 

 

Step3

Step 3: Before you start the next round of braiding, add an extra piece of hair from near your part and another from your hairline.

 

step4

 

 

 

Step 4: Add an extra piece of hair from your hairline to start moving hair away from your face.

 

 

step5Step 5: Continue the process all the way to you get behind your ear. My arm usually gets tired here so I secure half of my hair (pig-tail style) with an elastic.

step6

 

Step 6: Repeat the process on the other half of your hair

 

 

 

step7Step 7: Braid all the way back until your arm gets tired or you reach your ear…whatever happens first.

 

 

 

IMG_2816

Step 8: Pull all that extra hair back and secure the remaining elastic around all of it (including the first ponytail you made on the other side). Voila! Enjoy the easiest, fastest and perhaps laziest braid ever!

 

 

Leave a Reply

